President Buhari swears in his cabinet: A quick geopolitical analysis

Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi (L), Minister of Transportation; Muhammadu Buhari (C), President of Nigeria; and Babatunde Fashola (R), Minister of Power, Works and Housing. Credit:

Over seven months after he was elected, President Buhari has finally sworn in his cabinet.

Buhari reduced the total number of ministries from 29 to 24, and ministers from 42 to 36, scrapping some ministries and merging others.

Below is a list of the ministers along with their designated portfolios, as well as a list of scraped/merged ministries and a quick geopolitical analysis of the ministerial picks.

Read more: President Buhari Swears in His Cabinet | CPPA